Summer can be the most enjoyable time of year—especially if you are a student reveling in the break from studying and exams. Unfortunately, data about car accidents shows us that summer can also be the most dangerous season for young people. In fact, an average of 260 teenagers lose their lives each month of summer due to motor vehicle accidents. This represents a 26 percent increase in fatal accidents as compared with other months of the year. If you are a parent with teenage drivers, there are ways that you can help your children stay safe while driving this summer.
Distracted Driving Is a Serious Issue for Young Drivers
If you are over the age of 30, you probably remember the days before everyone had a cell phone. If someone wanted to make a call while they were driving, they simply waited until they got home to do so. Nowadays, we have the ability to send a text, make a call, or Google a question at literally any time—including behind the wheel. Many younger drivers have lived their entire lives around technology, so disconnecting from their cell phone for even the duration of a drive can prove challenging. Tragically, thousands of teens and adults have died in car accidents caused by distracted driving. Over half of all teen crashes are now thought to be caused by distracted driving. If you have teenaged drivers, make sure you are talking to them about distracted driving and the importance of not using a cell phone while driving.
Another deadly distraction which may be surprising to some is the mere presence of other people in the car. Studies show that simply having passengers in the vehicle may be more distracting and cause more accidents than cell phone use is. Make sure your teenagers understand that driving a car is a privilege and that it must be done with intentionality and caution.
Zero Tolerance for Underage Drinking and Driving
Drinking and driving is yet another serious concern for teenagers. There are several reasons that drunk driving is a particular danger for young people. Firstly, many teenagers try alcohol for the first time in high school or college. Because they have little to no experience with alcohol, they may take unreasonable risks when it comes to drinking and driving. Many people under the legal drinking age mistakenly believe that they are safe to drive if their blood alcohol content is under 0.08 percent. Not only is “buzzed driving” dangerous to the driver and everyone else on the road, but it is also illegal. According to Connecticut state law, no individuals under age 21 are legally allowed to drive with more than trace of alcohol in their system. Even a blood alcohol content of 0.02 percent can be enough to warrant an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI).
Have You Been Injured in a Car Accident?
If you or someone you love was hurt due to someone else’s negligence on the road, the Woolf Law Firm, LLC is here to help. An experienced Connecticut personal injury attorney can help you recover compensation for expensive medical bills, lost wages, or even pain and suffering. To schedule a free consultation with our law firm, call 860-290-8690 today.