When Is Theft a Felony Offense in Connecticut?

 Posted on December 00,0000 in Hartford Criminal Defense Attorney

Hartford larceny defense attorneyThere are many situations in which an action could legally be considered theft. In the state of Connecticut, theft is typically referred to as larceny, and all of the laws pertaining to theft use this term. Connecticut statutes state that larceny occurs when a person takes, obtains, or withholds property from its owner with the intent of permanently depriving the owner of the property. Larceny in Connecticut includes actions such as embezzlement, extortion, theft of services, shoplifting, and even receiving stolen property. Certain actions are charged in Connecticut as misdemeanor larceny crimes, but charges can also be elevated to felony larceny charges, depending on the circumstances surrounding the situation.

Larceny in the Third Degree

The first level of felony larceny charges, larceny in the third degree, occurs when a person commits larceny and the property:

  • Is a motor vehicle worth less than $10,000;
  • Is worth between $2,000 and $9,999;
  • Is a public record, writing, or instrument; or
  • Is a sample, culture, record, or document that contains proprietary information.

Third-degree larceny is a Class D felony, which means it carries up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.

Larceny in the Second Degree

Connecticut law states that larceny in the second degree occurs when a person commits larceny and the property:

  • Is a motor vehicle that is worth $10,000 - $19,999;
  • Has a value of $10,000 - $19,999;
  • Is taken directly from another person;
  • Is obtained from defrauding a public community and is worth less than $2,000; or
  • Is embezzled or obtained by false pretenses or false promises, and the victim is age 60 or older, blind, or disabled.

Second-degree larceny is a Class C felony. This means that you face a prison sentence of 1 to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines if you are convicted.

Larceny in the First Degree

First-degree larceny is the most serious larceny charge in Connecticut. First-degree larceny occurs when a person commits larceny and the property:

  • Is obtained by extortion;
  • Is a motor vehicle or other property worth more than $20,000; or
  • Is obtained by defrauding a public community and is worth more than $2,000.

Larceny in the first degree is a Class B felony. If you are convicted of larceny in the first degree, you face a minimum of one year and a maximum of 20 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines. Notably, first-degree larceny is the only Class B felony in Connecticut that is eligible, with good cause shown, to be considered by a judge for a pre-trial diversionary program called Accelerated Pre-Trial Rehabilitation. If this program is granted and successfully completed, it will lead to the dismissal of the charge.

Hire a Knowledgeable Hartford, CT Theft Defense Attorney Right Away

If you have been accused of felony larceny in Connecticut, you face serious consequences if you are convicted. These may include expensive fines, as well as jail time and everything that comes along with being a convicted felon. At the Woolf Law Firm, LLC, we know how a felony conviction can change your life. Our skilled Connecticut larceny defense lawyer will do everything in his power to ensure you have a fair trial and get a favorable outcome. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 860-290-8690.



Share this post:
Logo Image 50 Founders Plaza
East Hartford, CT 06108
Phone: 860-290-8690
Fax: 860-290-8697
We are available by appointment during evening and weekend hours, if necessary.

FB   Twitter   Our Blog