Sex crimes are some of the most serious and harshly punished crimes there are. Even just being accused of a sex crime can have a negative and long-lasting impact on your life. The state of Connecticut does not take kindly to those who are convicted of being a sex offender, and consequences can be even more severe for those who are convicted of a sex offense involving a minor child. If you are convicted of a sex crime in Connecticut, you could a face long prison sentence, extremely expensive fines, and the requirement to register as a sex offender.
Types of Sex Offenses Upon a Minor
In Connecticut, sex offenses are broken down into degrees. Though all sex offenses are extremely serious, first-degree sexual assault is the most harshly punished, and fourth-degree sexual assault is one of the lesser offenses. When it comes to sexual offenses involving victims who are minors, the same laws apply as if the victim was an adult, but the charges automatically become much more serious, and the consequences become more harsh.
In Connecticut, a minor is defined as a person under the age of 16. However, if the alleged perpetrator of sexual assault is in a supervisory position over the alleged victim, such as a coach or teacher, they can be charged with sexual assault of a minor, even if the alleged victim is 18 years old. In addition, anyone charged with Sexual Assault of a Minor will automatically be charged with Risk of Injury to a Minor under Connecticut General Statute 53-21.
Here are some examples of sex offenses involving a minor victim:
- First-Degree Sexual Assault: First-degree sexual assault is increased to a Class A felony if the victim is under the age of 13 and the actor is more than two years older, or if the victim is under the age of 16 and force or threat of force was used. This means that offenders face a minimum of 10 years in prison without the possibility of having the sentence reduced and a maximum of 25 years in prison, along with up to $20,000 in fines.
- Aggravated First-Degree Sexual Assault: This charge is increased to a Class A felony if the victim is under 16 years old. This means an offender will face a minimum sentence of 10 years in prison with no possibility of having the sentence reduced. If the assault involved the use of force or threat of force to a minor under the age of 16, then 20 years of the sentence is not permitted to be reduced.
- Aggravated Sexual Assault of a Minor: This charge can go into effect if a person commits first-degree sexual assault, aggravated first-degree sexual assault, second-degree sexual assault, or promoting prostitution in the first or second degree when the victim is under the age of 13 and the offender kidnapped, illegally restrained, stalked, used violence, or caused serious physical injury or disfigurement to the victim or has previously been convicted of a violent sexual assault. This is a Class A felony, which carries a sentence of 25 to 50 years in prison. For a first offense, 25 years of the sentence are not permitted to be reduced, and for a second offense, 50 years of the sentence are not permitted to be reduced.
- Fourth-Degree Sexual Assault: While this charge is typically a Class A misdemeanor, it is increased to a Class D felony if the alleged victim is a minor. A Class D felony carries a sentence of up to five years in prison.
Our Skilled Hartford, CT Sex Crimes Defense Attorney Can Help
As soon as you are accused of any type of sex crime, the first thing you need to do is immediately contact a knowledgeable Connecticut sex crimes defense lawyer. The sooner you do this, the sooner you and your attorney can get to work on building your defense. If you have been accused of committing a sex crime against a victim who is a minor, your freedom, reputation, and future are at stake. At the Woolf Law Firm, LLC, we understand the impact a conviction for a sex offense could have on your life, and we will work tirelessly to avoid a conviction whenever possible. Call our office today at 860-290-8690 to set up a free consultation.